This website uses cookies to store information on your computer. Some of these cookies are used for visitor analysis, others are essential to making our site function properly and improve the user experience. By using this site, you consent to the placement of these cookies. Click Accept to consent and dismiss this message or Deny to leave this website. Read our Privacy Statement for more.
Print Page | Sign In | Register
Congress Committee
Share |


Committee description and members

Past chair


Pascal Valentini

Jaime Gil

Turker Ornekol

Iva Milinkovic

Kathrin Becker


In general, the mission of the Congress Committee is to improve the long-term strategy and continuity regarding the EAO annual congresses. The following issues should specifically be addressed: scientific programme content and format; social programme; congress locations; congress sponsoring; finances, congress budget. 
The committee oversees the work of the scientific programme and the abstract subcommittees

Aims and objectives:

·     Plan long-term topics for congresses

·     Generate and maintain a database of renowned speakers, chairpersons and moderators

·     Manage the programme format for inclusion of all events

·     Generate a plan for development and innovation of congress content and format

·     Organise social events (if applicable)

·     Promotion of congresses (articles in related press releases)

·     Represents the link between the Board and the congress organisers



Scientific programme subcommittee

Congress Chair
Congress co-chair
Michael Payer
Congress co-chair


Position First Name  Last Name  Country 
Member Helena Francisco Portugal 
Member Istvan Urban Hungary
Member Klaus Gotfredsen Denmark 
Member Mario Roccuzzo Italy 
Member Pascal Valentini France
Member Petra Gierthmülhen Germany
Member Ann Wennerberg Sweden 
Member Lisa Heitz-Mayfield Australia 
Member Werner Zechner Austria



The scientific programme subcommittee is responsible for developing the congress programme reflecting the EAO’s core commitment to “bridging the gap between science and clinical practice”.

Aims and objectives:

Renewing the programme while still offering sessions in accordance with the association’s mission; making sure the scientific programme is consistent and meets the aims of the congress.


Abstract subcommittee

Position First Name Last Name Country
Chair new Ralf Joachim Kohal Germany
Restricted committee new Christel Larsson Sweden
Member Goran Benic Switzerland
Member Matteo Chiapasco Italy
Member Nikolaos Donos UK
Member Klaus Gotfredsen Denmark
Member Magnús Jón Björnsson Iceland
Member Flemming Isidor Denmark
Member Matthias Kern Germany
Member Andrea Mombelli Switzerland
Member Timo Narhi Finland
Member Gerry Raghoebar Netherlands
Member Giovanni Salvi Switzerland
Member Lars Schropp Denmark
Member Hendrik Terheyden Germany
Member Daniel Thoma Switzerland
Member Ann Wennerberg Sweden
Member Jorg Wiltfang Germany
Member Robert Haas Austria
NEW Member Murat Cehreli Turkey
NEW Member Erhan Firatli Turkey
NEW Member Alfonso Gil Spain
NEW Member Liselotte Lindh Sweden
NEW Member Paulo Mascarenhas Portugal
NEW Member Olivier Henry Savajol France
NEW Member Alberto Turri Sweden
NEW Member Anja Zembic Switzerland



The abstract subcommittee decides which abstracts will be included in the congress and in which format within the flexibility given by the venue and the overall congress programme (research competition, oral presentation, poster presentation etc.).

Aims and objectives:

To keep on selecting high quality abstracts to be presented during the congress; to organise the competitions in relation with the congress organisers.

Our Mission
As one of the leading associations within the field of implant dentistry in the world, the EAO aims to improve the quality of patient care by bridging the gap between science and clinical practice.
EAO Office
38 rue Croix des Petits Champs, 75001 Paris, France
+33 (0)1 42 36 62 20
Stay Connected
Find A Dentist